academic writing center

The Academic Writing Center (AWC) was established to provide academic assistance to SAS students. This pertains to assignments related to writing, including essays, undergraduate theses, conference proposals, and motivational letters, among others. The AWC is dedicated to the concept of peer and collaborative learning, embracing educational approaches that encourage collaborative teamwork and the acquisition of knowledge. The role of the AWC has evolved over time, with its tutors not only reviewing students’ papers but also serving as instructors in core courses like Writing, Thinking, Analysis, and Interpretation, Paideia, Great Books, Ecce Homo, and Personnage of the Year Topic.

team

Ahmed Elghandour
a.elghandour@utmn.ru
head of AWC

email: a.elghandour@utmn.ru

Anastasia Volobueva
a.volobueva.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: a.volobueva.sas@gmail.com

Anatoliy Stepanov
an.stepanov.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: an.stepanov.sas@gmail.com

Vitaly Mizyakov
v.mizyakov.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: v.mizyakov.sas@gmail.com

Ivan Kashcheev
i.kashcheev.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: i.kashcheev.sas@gmail.com

Kirill Dektyarev
k.dektiarev.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: k.dektiarev.sas@gmail.com

Milana Vakhrusheva
m.vakhrusheva.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: m.vakhrusheva.sas@gmail.com

Nadezhda Valeeva
n.valeeva.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: n.valeeva.sas@gmail.com

Najma Laylali
n.layali.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: n.layali.sas@gmail.com

Nelli Aleksanyan
n.aleksanian.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: n.aleksanian.sas@gmail.com

Polina Eliseeva
p.eliseeva.sas@gmail.com
tutor

email: p.eliseeva.sas@gmail.com

operation

Peer learning

The peer learning facilitation is carried out through experiential activities such as workshops organized by the tutors. The purpose of peer learning is reciprocal knowledge gain, to interact with other students and enhance the educational output. Past workshops have covered the following topics:

  • How to Enjoy Writing
  • Punctuation Marks and Grammar in Use
  • Working with Sentences
  • Reading and Taking Notes
  • Strategies for Better Writing
  • How to Coin the Title of Your Project

The AWC team introduces ‘Core Companion Seminars’. These seminars provide an opportunity to discuss topics with other students, develop ideas, and initiate others so that the students have the chance to work on their assignments before they are due. Usually, these seminars take place before seminars with professors alongside such courses as Great Books.

One-on-one consultations

The consultations provide students with assistance at any stage of their writing process for any assignments, from presentation outlines to full-year research projects, and offer the opportunity to:

  • Engage in conversation about their work with the tutors;
  • Receive feedback on the clarity of their thoughts, the organization of their ideas, or their approach to a particular task;
  • Identify the errors in writings in terms of English proficiency, structure, and style.

Online feedback

Students may receive an online type of feedback upon their request. The request should contain a specific goal of the feedback provision. In their feedback, tutors share their rigorous comments on the projects sent attached to students’ request email. Students and/or tutors can schedule consultation meetings in case they have any questions that need to be tackled.

tutors selection

Tutors are selected among the SAS BA students. The head of the AWC selects students based on a holistic approach. Students are selected not only based on their academic performance but also on the basis of their social behavior and adherence to academic integrity norms that can be demonstrated during their study at SAS. As working with students can be considered a difficult task, students who are invited to the AWC Team shine at executing high levels of organizational skills, discipline, public speaking, ambition, empathy, and situational awareness. Students are invited to the AWC team on a yearly basis.

tutor's duty

Tutors are senior students who undergo basic and specific nuances of academic writing norms. They are trained in academic writing structure, style, and English language. They are motivated to help their fellow students, indicate issues with the coursework, and look at students’ submitted work with a fresh eye. In short, tutors offer support; they never do the coursework on students’ behalf. Tutors do not focus on helping students get high grades; they concentrate on making the coursework clear, improve students’ understanding of the hints and tricks of academic writing, and they offer great peer learning strategies that boost students’ academic and professional performance.

F.A.Q.

– How do I schedule a meeting or send a paper for feedback?

You can email any tutor of your liking to the AWC Team. Tutors should get back to you in a couple of hours.

– How should I prepare for a consultation?

To get the most out of your consultation, come with a prepared outline of the work you are seeking a review of. It would be just perfect to send such a draft to the tutors 6-12 hours prior to the meeting. We are happy to consult with you about anything related to your progress, e.g., getting started, organizing your thoughts, being overwhelmed, etc.

– Where are writing consultations held?

Consultations may be held either online or on-campus. You will agree on the location with your tutor.

– How long do consultations take?

Consultations can range from 5 to 60 minutes. The duration of the session, of course, depends on how long it takes to reach your goal.

центр академического письма

В Центре академического письма (AWC) студенты старших курсов работают тьюторами, помогая студентам младших курсов с выполнением письменных заданий, таких как академическое эссе. Тьюторы хорошо знают структуру и стиль академических работ, свободно владеют английским языком. Задача тьютора — помочь студенту сделать свой текст понятным и структурированным, а также выступать в роли наставника и старшего товарища, к которому всегда можно обратиться за советом.

команда центра

Ахмед Эльгандур
a.elghandour@utmn.ru
руководитель центра

email: a.elghandour@utmn.ru

Анастасия Волобуева
a.volobueva.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: a.volobueva.sas@gmail.com

Анатолий Степанов
an.stepanov.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: an.stepanov.sas@gmail.com

Виталий Мизяков
v.mizyakov.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: v.mizyakov.sas@gmail.com

Иван Кащеев
i.kashcheev.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: i.kashcheev.sas@gmail.com

Кирилл Дектярев
k.dektiarev.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: k.dektiarev.sas@gmail.com

Милана Вахрушева
m.vakhrusheva.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: m.vakhrusheva.sas@gmail.com

Надежда Валеева
n.valeeva.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: n.valeeva.sas@gmail.com

Наджма Лайали
n.layali.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: n.layali.sas@gmail.com

Нелли Алексанян
n.aleksanian.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: n.aleksanian.sas@gmail.com

Полина Елисеева
p.eliseeva.sas@gmail.com
тьютор

email: p.eliseeva.sas@gmail.com

функционал цeнтра

Взаимное обучение

Содействие взаимному обучению осуществляется с помощью практических занятий — семинаров, организованных тьюторами. Взаимное получение знаний, взаимодействие с другими студентами и повышение качества образования — вот основные цели взаимного обучения. Прошлые семинары были посвящены следующим темам:

  • Как получать удовольствие от письма
  • Пунктуация и грамматика в действии
  • Работа с предложениями
  • Чтение и заметки
  • Cтратегии для улучшения своего письма
  • Как заставить название проекта работать на вас

Личные консультации

Личные консультации дают возможность получить помощь на любой стадии работы над любыми письменным заданием: от презентации плана эссе до полноценных исследовательских проектов. А также предлагают студентам:

  • обсудить их работу вместе с тьютором;
  • получить обратную связь по ясности мыслей, организации идей или подходу к определенному заданию;
  • найти ошибки в письме с точки зрения владения английским языком, структуры работы и ее стиля;

Онлайн-комментарии

Студенты могут запросить онлайн-комментарий их работы. В запросе должна быть конкретная цель комментарии. В обратной связи тьюторы оставляют строгие комментарии на работы, прикреплённые к письму с запросом. Студенты и/или тьюторы могут запланировать встречу-консультацию, если у них появились вопросы, которые требуют обсуждения.

отбор тьюторов

Тьюторы выбираются из числа студентов бакалавриата SAS на год. Руководитель AWC выбирает студентов с помощью комплексного подхода. Они отбираются не только по уровню академической успеваемости, но ещё и по социальному поведению и приверженности нормам академической этики, проявляющимся на протяжении их обучения в SAS. Приглашенные студенты обладают исключительными навыками организованности, публичной речи, эмпатии, они амбициозны, дисциплинированы, а также смекалисты, поскольку работа со студентами порой бывает тяжелой задачей.

обязанности тьюторов

Тьюторы — это студенты старших курсов, владеющие базой и нюансами академического письма. Они хорошо знают структуру и стиль академических работ, свободно владеют английским языком; готовы помочь другим студентам, свежим глазом выявляя проблемные места в работах. Одним словом, тьюторы помогают, но не выполняют задание за студента, ведь их главная задача не гарантировать студентам высокую оценку, а помочь сделать работу понятной и структурированной. Наконец, они предоставляют обратную связь от лица студента, помогая ему овладеть приёмами академического письма и развить профессиональные навыки студента.

F.A.Q.

— Как запланировать встречу или запросить комментарий для работы?

Вы можете отправить email любому понравившемуся тьютору из команды AWC. Обычно они отвечают в течение пары часов.

— Как подготовиться к встрече?

Чтобы встреча была максимально эффективна, приготовьте план (черновик) работы, на которую Вы бы хотели получить отзыв (в идеале Вам нужно отправить этот черновик за 6−12 часов до встречи). Вы не знаете, как начать эссе, организовать свои мысли, преодолеть ступор — мы будем рады помочь с любым вопросом касаемо вашей работы.

— Где проходят встречи?

Встречи могут проводиться онлайн или в университете: договоритесь о формате с Вашим тьютором.

— Как долго проходят встречи?

Встречи могут длиться от 5 до 60 минут — всё зависит от того, каким будет прогресс по достижению поставленной цели.